Solo Engine RPG Battle Royale Week: Mythic GM Emulator

Hey everyone, welcome back to the Solo RPG Battle Royale. Last time we left off, we successfully apprehended the man who would let loose the snakes on a plane and conquered the Epic D6 system. Now onto the Mythic GM Emulator by Word Mill Games, the system I am very familiar with.

For those who don’t know, Mythic uses D10 and D100s to get answers and plot twists. Yes/No questions are answered based on a complex chart of numbers, odds, and chaos factors, and complex questions are answered with two lists of 100 words to jog your noodle. Random Events happen either when you roll doubles equal to or below the Chaos Factor or if you roll an even number in a Scene Roll, so long as it’s equal to or below Chaos Factor.

So now, let’s begin Mythic at Chaos Factor 5. The scenario’s the same as before: we have a guy sitting in a plane with someone he has to protect and a third person that is to be determined by the system.

[NPC Meaning: 98, 77. Overthrow Trials]

Sitting next to Jack was a man who looked mysterious. He was looking out the window and held out a briefcase in his hand. Jack had a twinge of suspiciousness coming from him.

… Another mischievous dude who wants to sabotage me and/or the witness? Someone’s getting a taze… Though considering how well it went last time, I’m going to just use my Cool to analyze him.

[Cool Roll: 5, 4, 3, 2, 4]

Success. Do I see anything that could be bad for me?

[Odds: Somewhat Likely. Roll… 72, Nope.]

Jack looked at the man but no sense of danger emanated from him.

Hm… He’s hiding something very well… Next scene, Chaos Factor up.

Chaos Factor: 6

NPCs: Witness, Shady Man,

Threads: Protect Witness

SCENE 2

[Scene Roll: 8]

The Flight Attendant passes by, only glancing at Jack and the others before going on her merry way. When she was gone, Jack took out a tazer and struck the mysterious man.

So the Flight Attendant passes by, not noticing the three people. Now I’m gonna try to taze the dude.

[Cool Roll: 1, 5, 4, 4, 6]

ZAAAAAAAP! Jack easily tazed the man and knocked him out. Jack grabs the briefcase and pops it open.

And I successfully taze him. Now I’m able to raid the dude and see if he has anything on him.

[Cool Roll (+2 Advantage): 6, 4, 3, 2, 1, 2, 2]

Papers. Nothing that would incriminate the man as someone who’d stand in his or the witness’ way. Jack closed the briefcase and set it by the man’s side.

Nothing… So that only means he’s the decoy. Do the security see this?

[Odds: Likely. Roll… 13, Exceptional Yes]

“HEY! WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’RE DOING!?” The security guard said as he pulled out a gun upon looking at Jack rifling through the briefcase. Jack got up and began to run.

Not only to they see me, but instantly think I’m the terrorist. I run off through the halls as the scene ends with Chaos Factor up.

Chaos Factor: 7

NPCs: Witness, Shady Man, Flight Attendant, Security

Threads: Protect Witness, Run From Security

SCENE 3

[Scene Roll: 5. Scene Altered]

[What Is Altered?: 6, 36. Triumph Bureaucracy]

As Jack ran off, more security guards come, guns pointed and firing at him.

I’m boned. Without even knowing it, I got tagged by the guards and tazed. I gotta roll to dodge though.

[Nerves Roll: 1, 5, 2, 5, 4.]

Jack dodged the tazer wires and rolled out of the way. In one quick shot, he fired his own tazer at them.

I succeed in dodging and fire my own taze at them.

[Cool Roll: 6, 1, 2, 3, 3]

The tazer missed all of them…

I missed. Do the guys freak at me firing?

[Odds: Very Likely. Roll… 4. Exceptional Yes.]

One of the passengers got shocked by his tazer and began to seize up. The passengers around him gasp just as the plane made a pop sound and all the masks come out with snakes curling around them.

Oh yeah, they freaked. They’re so freaked out, the Snakes come in. Now we’re screwed. Like… Super screwed. Like, I’m increasing the Chaos Factor twice.

Chaos Factor: 9

NPCs: Witness, Shady Man, Flight Attendant, Security, Crowd, Snakes

Threads: Protect Witness, Run From Security

SCENE 4

[Scene Roll: 6. Scene Interrupt.]

[Event Focus: 96, NPC Positive. NPC is… Crowd.]

[Event Meaning: 12, 19. Increase New Ideas]

“WE’RE GOING TO DIE!” The passengers tossed the masks to the ground and run off, crushing the snakes in their wake. Jack tried to get away with the crowd.

The Crowd isn’t going to take this shit. They get out and start crushing the Snakes. Meanwhile I try to lose myself in the crowd from the Security.

[Nerve Roll: 1, 2, 3, 4, 4]

[Damage Roll: 4]

Jack tried to run from security, but managed to get crushed by the crowd, his head getting the most crushed.

So my Wits is down (Wits: 4).

I’d stay down, but that’d require me being crushed to death. Instead, I will try to get up.

[Guts Roll: 3, 3, 3, 4, 3]

Rerolling.

[Guts Roll: 5, 2, 1, 4, 5]

Lovely results.

Jack gets up and the chase continues.

 

I guess that’s where I’ll end the scene then. Since Chaos Factor is at its max, I’ll leave it.

Chaos Factor: 9

NPCs: Witness, Shady Man, Flight Attendant, Security, Crowd, Snakes

Threads: Protect Witness, Run From Security

SCENE 5

[Scene Roll: 3. Altered Scene]

[What Gets Altered?: 61, 9. Oppress Evil]

[Is The Evil Me? Odds: 50/50. Roll… 39. Yes]

Unfortunately, Jack got held up by the security guards and push him to the ground. He begins to struggle.

Gonna struggle out.

[Guts Roll: 4, 1, 3, 3, 4]

[Damage Roll: 6 (which becomes 5), Charm]

The security guards whip him around with a baton and gave him a huge black eye as they knock him out and apprehend him.

And with that, my Charm is down by two, (Charm: 3) and I got arrested. The story, as I see it, is over, and with that, my experiment with Mythic. It works very well, though that’s because I’m a veteran for this system. Now that I got this out of the way, I need to work my way through the others, learn their systems and play them to the best of my ability. Tune in tomorrow when we take on the Oculus Trifold.

Leave a Reply

