Qrigin Of The Day: Why Is It Called Solo RPG Voyages?

Hey, I want to announce that there are no actual plays for a while. I’m working on two projects for this site. One is for Valentine’s Day and another is going to be a secret for now. In the meantime, these are simple anecdotes related to my past of solo Roleplaying akin to the Counter Monkey series. They’re pretty brief, as my time as a solo roleplayer is pretty brief. I like to call this Qrigin of the Day, as they are both questions and origins to my life as a solo roleplayer prior to Solo RPG Voyages.

I guess the first and easiest story is why I have the name Solo RPG Voyages. Well, it’s simple. The day I began to consider making a WordPress for my exploits in solo RPGs was the day I purchased the Rory’s Story Cubes Voyages edition. I began to test out the Nine Questions game with these dice and had an enjoyable time. All I did was look at the cubes as they were present and based on the questions weave a story about how a man, dying from Mad Elephant’s Disease, journeyed to the Fountain of Youth to heal himself of the disease.

It was pretty tense and I enjoyed it. By the end, I decided to create an NPC based on the Clow Cards from Card Captor Sakura, and I think that was when I decided to get a WordPress going so I could share the rules for both this and how to involve the card game Once Upon A Time (not to be confused with the TV show) into Mythic GM Emulator. When figuring out the name for the site, I simply used Voyages in tribute to the dice I used for my own voyage.

After all, when I solo roleplay, I’m essentially going on a voyage to another world. And yes, the orange you see is a nod to the original Story Cubes’ orange packaging.

Leave a Reply

