Let’s Play With Fate Solo

Confession time. I have never played Fate. At all. I picked up the Accelerated version for dirt cheap (compared to other RPGs) and I was interested in playing it. But, it never came. Then, the Solo Roleplayer came out and with it, Fate Solo. Now, I can play Fate and have an Engine built exclusively for the system.

The thing is, which setting to play in. For those not in the know, Fate is a universal RPG, meaning that it can be applied to any kind of genre, story, and what have you. Fortunately, Evil Hat has provided several settings for me to play in. Enter Save Game, the closest thing we’re getting to Wreck-It-Ralph: The RPG. While it has a nice campaign story, I have been meaning to play out my own little scenario that for some reason my brain dreamed up, in which I get into a theatre to watch Wreck-It Ralph, only to find this plot instead of the movie’s actual plot.

The basic gist? Disney vs. Warner Brothers. It goes on to be a bit more complex than this, but basically either Daisy or Peach from Super Mario Bros. gives birth to Mickey Mouse, who, because Wreck-It Ralph is a Disney film, is essentially Jesus Christ. Everyone’s rejoicing and being happy, then Bugs Bunny steps in, and since he’s Warner Brothers’ main mascot/JC, he declares war on the Nintendo/Disney characters because of blaspheme.

Yes. My subconscious thought of this. And I can never understand why. The only thing I can do is try to bring closure to the dream, as the dream ended with me actually reading someone’s actual play of this exact setting. I figured I might as well invoke a self-fulfilling prophecy and do it myself. So, let’s play a game in which the plot seems to feel more like a Robot Chicken sketch than an actual Disney Movie.

But first, I need to create my character. My idea is that he’s a hapless video game character who, by the end of this session, will decide whether to side with Nintendo/Disney or Sony/Warner Brothers. I’m going to follow the creation rules of Fate Solo, which is basically “beef up your character like no tomorrow”, so I will put up his Sheet for those interested. First, we do Aspects.

After looking through the examples, I figured out what High Concept I’d want: Cyborg Soldier, a sort of mesh between the Space Soldiers of Halo and the Tech-based Soldiers of Titanfall. His Trouble is that he’s not a playable character, but rather an NPC with a set AI personality (“kill the player”) that he’s trying to override but still succumbs to from time to time. In short: AI Is A Crapshoot. Next are my skills. His Goal Aspect will be related to this: A Whole New Paige. His fourth and fifth Aspects are as follows: Between Two Worlds (Reflecting his stance in the Disney/WB Conflict) and Fugitive from Haloid (reflective of his backstory). I will also add Advanced Heart-Rate Seeking AI for my sixth Aspect, since it reflects Paige’s backstory as well.

I guess I’ll do the Phase Trio.

Haloid is the newest FPS game from Funco Industries. The game boasted to have intelligent AI that senses the player’s heart rate to gauge adrenaline, fear, and even health. The game got major controversy when it’s revealed that the AI was stolen from the National Institute of Mental Health and modified to identify heart rates instead of brainwaves. Funco was shut down, but not before Haloid got a cult following.

Aspect Gained from this: Advanced Heart-Rate Seeking AI.

In it, players play a gunner that they can name themselves and even assign gender to. They are assigned to infiltrate the HQ of Zaplas Corporation headed by an alien race whose leader is played by famed celebrity Sean Bean. No need to guess what happens to said alien leader. However, Zaplas is protected by mooks from both human and alien origins. Paige was just one of the countless members to confront the gunner. However, he was the only one to be spared, as the person playing the Gunner at the time was rushing it. He wound up escaping the world of Haloid, but now the Gunner is turning their guns to him as the last surviving member of Zaplas.

Aspect Gained from this: Fugitive from Haloid.

Out of the game, Paige wandered the worlds looking for a job. However, this was not long after Mickey Mouse’s birth and the declaration of war from Bugs Bunny. As such, he fell into a war Between Two Worlds. Paige just wants to be left alone. He doesn’t wish to be in any such war. But, he must run. Run for the rest of his life.

Aspect Gained from this: Stuck in a War Between Two Worlds.

Seventh will be filled during Gameplay. Now onto Skills.

  • Superb: Shoot (He’s tasked with shooting a gun, so it’s naturally his best skill)
  • Great: Run, Jump
  • Good: Punch, Sneak, Item
  • Fair: Block, Taunt, Chat, Spot
  • Average: Fix, Wreck, Respawn, Idle, Kick

The Save Game only provides eleven skills, so the last four I had to improvise. Next are stunts. Fate Solo tells me to do two more than what Save Game is giving me.

  • Trick Shot: Unlocks “Overcome” for the Shoot Skill.
  • Suppressive Fire: Unlocks “Defend” for the Shoot Skill.
  • Run and Gun: +2 to attack with Shoot Skill if the previous success was a Run skill.
  • Fastest Gun in Space: Always take the first action in this conflict.
  • Quick Time Event: +2 to attack with Shoot Skill when involved in a one-on-one duel.

Alright, let’s put it all together into a character sheet. Continue reading

