Stat It: Quill

It had occurred to me a while back when I was creating my stats for Swords & Six-Siders that what I’m playing is akin to a roguelike, a genre of videogames that feature procedurally generated levels and a pretty hard difficulty. In a way, it makes me feel like I’m actually playing a game on Steam. By that point, I began to think of RPGs more akin to PC games, only, instead of a story for you to play through, you’re instead playing in an open sandbox game where the story is entirely up to you. Far more freedom than most games offer nowadays.

That isn’t to say that I’m shifting gears and I’m going to start putting buckets over peoples’ heads while I loot them or start driving around the country side and scaling tall towers to get an achievement, but rather I just felt like I’m seeing RPGs in a new light. This, in turn, makes me more excited to play the RPGs I will be playing soon. Here’s another Stat It for one such game: Quill.

This game was made for a single player to play. The game is basically you writing letters to impress someone. It is up to you to find the best words to use and write it as elegantly as you can. For this, we need three things: Penmanship, to make the letter stand out from the rest, Language, to ensure the letter has the most superior wording, and Heart, to put all my passion into the letter. It’s not really a Stat It per se, as I just simply need to pick a character from the list of six to play as.

I’ll select The Courtier for her good stats in Heart and Penmanship. I do however, pick a skill. However, the skills are mainly “get a one-time boost to your dice”. I’ll pick Augmentation, which gives me the one-time + for Heart. And that’s basically it. It’s a pretty easy game to just pick up and play. I created a character in less time than it took for me to stat up my S&SS character.

It’s practically to the point where I could wind up playing the game right now, but I’m going to instead devote my time to reading up on the game I’m going to play for Valentine’s Day. You people will know what it is soon enough. Until then, Bon Voyage, gamers.

Leave a Reply

