Sink the Bismarck, The Cry That Shook The Seven Seas

Alright, so this was inspired by a few things. First is my desire to take the game Salvo slowly and the other was because of a suggestion by Virginian John. I’m gonna play the Denmark Strait scenario where it pits Bismarck and Prinz Eugen vs. Hood and the Prince of Wales.

However, I will be using the Mythic GM Emulator to help run the battle and provide twists. This is also because I need help pacing out the battle, so the Mythic Emulator will help me with that. Every two rounds will count as a “Scene” for Mythic, as that is also how often you have to roll on the “End of Turn” table.

I’ve set up the Mythic List so as to include the ships on both NPCs and PCs list, as well as Winston Churchill on the NPC list (since I’m playing the ships, not their allied commanders). For threads, I added the sinking of the Bismarck and Hood, because as far as the game’s concerned, those will be the major moments in the Denmark Strait skirmish. To make it even more easier, I created a macro in Roll20 that allowed the system to add up the numbers so that I didn’t have to go through the math process.

Our battle begins with a bit of a scenario as the Bismarck is situated at RI -10 (meaning she’s far back from the battle while the others are in the middle) as Prinz backs away. The weather is fair, so my ships are able to fire. They deal some damage to Prinz, but not enough. Next turn, Prinz tackled us head on, though we managed to disable it from firing on us next turn.

The round ends and I roll the end of turn thing. While we don’t end our game (to be fair, there’s only a good chance of the game ending if the weather is not only misty but ships are far apart), we do get a random event. It’s a positive event for the Prince of Wales. I interpret Trust Wishes to be that, because Prinz is at a tough disadvantage, the Prince of Wales is full of so much confidence that it can fire twice.

I took this to my advantage by destroying the turrets of the Prinz, thus it is unable to fire anymore. This means she’s a sitting duck while my ships fired upon the ship. Next round, Prinz Eugen sinks and we spend the next turn chasing Bismarck. Seems the Bismarck has the same idea as she goes in to confront us. Well, this is gonna be challenging.

Also, we have a new event. It’s moving towards sinking the Bismarck. We pick up radio chatter that the crew is busy arguing over whether to fire or leave. They’re unable to act for the round, but for one turn, they’ll offer broadside, which means we’ll meet a +5 to our face. However, we don’t get a lot of firing and the straddle that ensued only led to a miss.

Next, round, however, we managed to cause a heavy wound into the Bismarck, though not without her causing one into the Hood. Random Event ensues. It’s a remote event regarding domination of emotions. I guess, for the purpose of this round, any fatal wound to the Hood will be ignored for one entire round.

After more firing, we finally managed to damage the Bismarck’s turrets, which allows it to straddle us less now. The problem being that I also reduced its speed to zero, which now means the Bismarck can only offer broadside. Her strongest turrets are on broadside. And guess what happens to the Hood? It sinks. However, I avenged it next turn by sinking the Bismarck.

Well, I can’t change fate it seems. However, that was a very quick and easy gaming experience. I used Roll20 for the combat and I managed to create a cool macro for rolling to Straddle, which I considered the hardest to do due to its formula.

And you know, according to the scenario included in the postcard, I technically won when I reduced Bismarck’s speed to zero. So… You know what? I’ll say that, technically, I won with Hood and Prince of Wales still being alive and that I messed around with fate.

But yeah, that was Salvo’s Denmark Battle scenario. Taking it slowly was actually a pretty easy experience, even if I did end up speeding up towards the end.

Leave a Reply

