Stat It: Ravenloft

Alright, I’m gonna start getting back into solo roleplaying by doing several Stat Its. These will be for the characters I’ve created using the Nine Questions, and we’ll be starting off with the system I know off by heart, D&D 5E.

Assisting me is the Backstory Cards. I picked up the first expansion and figured that it could help me flesh out my druid a bit. To recap on what happened, my character is a druid who hails from a Strahd-worshipping village near Yester Hill. In his quest to protect the weak, he obtained a target in the form of a burgomaster who had lynched a werewolf. He currently is working under his hand to get closer and strike him when his defense is down.

But that’s just it. Other than that bit of backstory, nothing else is said about him. Well, it’s time for me to flesh him out. It’s a good thing that the player’s handbook has a third of its book devoted to step by step character creation.

First off, I gotta pick a race. I’m probably gonna pick human since that’s an easy one. Going with a human variant. And obviously, I’m going with Druid. Figuring out what to do for levels, I decided to stick for Level 3, on the assumption that my character went through the events of the adventure “The Beast”, getting away with fourteen thousand experience points.

After outfitting him with some of the items he starts off with (he traded in a Whip of Warning that he found for a Scimitar of Warning), I also give him the Circle of the Land. The circle he chose is naturally swamp to match the bleak nature of Barovia. My spell list is as follows:

  • Druidcraft
  • Produce Flame
  • Create Bonfire (learning from the scroll he picked up)
  • Entangle
  • Cure Wounds
  • Acid Arrow
  • Darkness
  • Flame Blade
  • Moonbeam

My character is now a sort of tool bag, and the spells actually help with some of that. A good chunk of the spells are damaging, but there’s at least a few that either heal himself, troll other people, or trap them. His 16 Wisdom also helps with this spell casting.

His background is the Folk Hero, since I could see him more as a heroic figure than some hermit like the game suggests Druids be. His defining action would be that he scared away some dire wolves from the village, and in the process, learned to turn into a wolf himself and unlocked his Druid powers.

His personality traits and ideals match what I had in mind when I created him via Tarokka cards, his bond also fits too. His flaw, however, is interesting. He doesn’t trust allies, which is probably why he is all alone.

And now, the piece de resistance. The Backstory Cards. I’ll draw five cards and fill out their prompts. Any mention of PC will be replaced with an NPC. I’m using the expansion called the Unseen Threats.

  1. Our hero, Phillip, has recurring nightmares about Alina, the werewolf he failed to save.
  2. His investigations regarding a separate case (perhaps a new thread to explore) led him to a place that most people refer to as the Death House, where it is linked to a cult who revere Strahd as their God. Phillip’s next move regarding them is to give the news to Ivan in a way to gain his trust.
  3. Gregori, a guy who hired Phillip to bring fur coats to the town he now serves, caught Phillip snooping on Ivan. As a result, Phillip is forced to tell Gregori about what had happened, but didn’t explain that he’s planning to kill Ivan.
  4. In the process, Gregori and Phillip investigated together on any more secret dealings that Ivan had. Gregori saw for the first time Phillip’s ability to stealth in the urban city by converting his fur coats (which Phillip admired) into makeshift camouflage.
  5. However, during the investigation, Phillip saw a raven spy on him. He is almost convinced that the bird was watching him, but it got away before Gregori could see him. Phillip and Gregori haven’t seen each other since.

And that’s the current backstory I have for Phillip the Druid. I gotta say, there’s a little more depth to this now and there’s bound to be threads and NPCs a plenty. Well, one down, three to go. Bon voyage, Gamers!

Leave a Reply

